stem collector

I have a confession to make :

I keep stems around.


Stems for poems,

Usually colliding with rock music trivia

Stems for first date conversation topics

Usually colliding with rock music trivia

Even though I promise I tried.


Stems for games and playing games

In an attempt to tame competition

Into a human-size outline for the night


Stems for prayers in times of need

Which like most prayers are kept unsaid anyway

Stems for times of need

Replaced without warning by actual ones

Bearing message of more adjustments to be made



I collect stems. They are less colourful than butterflies

But exactly as dead.



Cake writing challenge #65. Prompts : sprint, rats, competition, prayer, first date
Didn’t use all of them, and went for a lighter style than usual, I wasn’t that satisfied with the very heavy effort put out last week after all. Hope you enjoy !

7 responses to “stem collector

  • hansales1088

    This is awesome! Great poem!

  • Elaine McKay

    I think I might be a stem collector, if I’ve read this correctly, and the stem is the beginning of an idea. Does the fact he has something rehearsed cheapen his efforts on the first date since he feels he is confessing? Or I may have misunderstood, highly possible! The second stanza is my favourite.

    • Godefroy D.

      … I have no idea ! The poem is as yours as it is mine :)
      Yeah, stems to me are … pieces of things. They can be the end of a song, part of a conversation you thought might happen, but they will never really flower into something else. At least that’s what I started with anyway x3 thanks for reading !

  • SJ O'Hart

    This is great! I love the idea of being a ‘stem collector’ – I have a literal image of a vase full of stems, i.e. flowers without heads, but what the word means to me is ‘beginnings’ – like, the narrator collects potential. What a great concept. And I love the line ‘Which like most prayers are kept unsaid anyway’ – a wonderful distillation of the human condition, right there. Well done.

    • Godefroy D.

      That was the idea I toyed with – that they might seem to offer potential but as soon as considered become as dry and sterile as flower stems collected under glass … I didn’t want to harp on it too much as it would have weighted the text too much imo ^^ Thanks for the kind comment :)

Leave a Reply

Al&Bane

Causons oser.

Le blog d'un odieux connard

Qu'il est bon d'être mauvais.

Industrial Music For Industrial People

A Blogger's Guide To Essential Industrial Music

The Shadelessness of Boiling Water

~The Internet Home of Nandini Dhar, Professional Faultfinder and Inveterate Bullshitter

LoveInAMist

The Blog of Poet Poppy Kleiser

PaperFields Press

A Small Press, with bold ideas.

HAND JOB ZINE

A UK literary magazine from the feral fields of Britain

twoofcupspress

magic on paper

Dead Bluebird

Stories & poems for the traveller; by Aidan Holt

Poetry Society members

for and by concerned members of The Poetry Society

oddballmagazine.wordpress.com/

poetry, art, and entertainment for the masses

Oatmeal Magazine

A Literary Breakfast of Champions

Poplar Culture

Gram Joel Davies' weblog

mischievoice

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Make Your Own Taste

Eclectic reviews of ambient, psychedelic, post-rock, folk and progressive rock ... etc.!

maureralvarez

Pansy Maurer-Alvarez

Tears in the Fence

an independent, international literary magazine

Cactus Press

poetry for vagrants and shamans

